Car News

Model Y Is The Second Tesla To Get IIHS Top Safety Pick+ Award

Tesla continues it’s legacy to offer safe vehicles as it got Top Safety Pick+ (TSP+) award for the Model Y after Model 3

  • Tesla Model Y has got IIHS Top Safety Pick+ Award for 2021. It is the second Tesla to bag this award by Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
  • Previously, Tesla Model 3 was the only Tesla to qualify for Top Safety Pick+ (TSP+) award by IIHS

Model Y is the latest Tesla that has bagged Top Safety Pick+ award by IIHS. Insurance Institute For Highway Safety (IIHS) has also awarded 2019-2020 Tesla Model 3 for the same. The crossover continues it’s legacy of safety as it got five-star rating from National Highway Traffic Safety Administration too.

2021 Tesla Model Y IIHS Crash Test

Tesla Model Y IIHS

To qualify for IIHS, A vehicle need three things. First, it needs to get good score in numbers of crash tests. This includes driver-side small overlap front, passenger-side small overlap front, original side, roof strength, head restraint and moderate overlap front tests.

Second, it needs to have Advanced or Superior rating for front crash prevention. This includes vehicle-to-vehicle as well as vehicle-to-pedestrian evaluations. The Tesla Model Y has scored good despite using a camera only system for front sensors suite.

Third and the last thing to qualify for IIHS is the headlights. The headlights of the car needs to be acceptable or good and they must be the part of standard equipment.

Tesla Model Y IIHS crash test

According to IIHS, Model Y has maintained driver survival space very well in small overlap front test. Frontal and side airbags also worked well to prevent dummy’s head being hit. Risk of injuries on dummy’s feet was low too. IIHS said that, overall the Model Y has very well maintained driver survival space.

IIHS has named almost 80 vehicles for Top Safety Pick+ (TSP+) award this year. Model Y cars that were built after April 2021 are eligible for this award. Volvo V60, Acura TLX & Lexus IS also falls in Model Y category in terms of safety.

Leave a Reply